J.S. Bach

BWV 208

Title:Was mir behagt, ist nur die muntre Jagd! (Hunting Cantata)
Orchestration from
Soli: S I (Diana), S II (Pales), T (Endymion), B (Pan). Chor: S I, S II, T, B. Instr.: Corno da caccia I, II; Flauto dolce I, II; Ob. I, II; Taille; Fag.; Viol. I, II; Vla.; Cont. (+ Violone grosso)
Occasion:Hunting Cantata for the birthday of Duke Christian of Saxe-Weissenfels
Author:Salomo Franck
Comment:Contains " Sheep May Safely Graze."
Sinfonia is reuse of first, second and fourth movements of Brandenburg Concerto No. 1. BWV 1046 but without the violino piccolo and without the polonaise in the last movement.
German Text:click here (Walter F. Bischof 's Bach Cantatas web site).
English Text:click here (Z. Philip Ambrose's Texts of the Complete Vocal Works web site).
Next:BWV 208a
Previous:BWV 207a
Note:The information contained in this site has been collected from several sources and its accuracy cannot be guaranteed.