J.S. Bach

BWV 1046

Title:Brandenburg Concerto No. 1
Category:Concertos and Orchestral Suites
Movements:1. Allegro (without tempo indication)
2. Adagio
3. Allegro
4. Menuetto - Trio I - Polacca - Trio II
violin piccolo
Key:F Major
Year:1717?: The individual composition dates for the Brandenberg Concerti cannot be precisely determined. The only thing that can be said with certainty about their chronology is that they were all composed by March 1721, the date on Bach's autograph copy.
Source: The Brandenburg Concertos by Malcolm Boyd, Cambridge University Press, 1993
Comment:First, second and fourth movements re-used in introductory sinfonia to Cantata 208 but without the violino piccolo and without the polonaise in the last movement. The third movement was re-used as the opening chorus of Cantata 207. The first movement was re-used as an introductory sinfonia to Cantata BWV 52, with similarities to the earlier version BWV 1046a. The third movement was also re-used as the opening chorus of Cantata BWV 207a.
Next:BWV 1046a
Previous:BWV 1045
Note:The information contained in this site has been collected from several sources and its accuracy cannot be guaranteed.